in English

Een belangrijke bron van Engelstalige artikels is het weekblad "Flanders Today" dat met de steun van de Vlaamse Overheid uitgegeven wordt.
Wij vonden er o.m. volgende bijdragen

  • 09.04.2008: Lost in time. A lack of legislation on abandoned sites leaves many Flemish properties empty for decades. In 1995 a law on leegstand en verkrotting (empty and dilapidated) was introduced to stimulate owners of abandoned enterprises, whether it was a factory or a farm, to make up their minds. To avoid hefty fines, a widespread and frantic demolition craze followed. Today, many empty plots remain empty - or have been turned into improvised parking lots or dumping grounds. And still the demolition of sometimes valuable assets goes on. (see p. 13)
  • 20.08.2008: Flax nation; Flanders’ youngest curator is putting a fresh face on an old industry . The story of flax and the Kortrijk flax museum. “The Golden River (otherwise known as the Leie) was particularly legendary for producing the best quality and colour of fl ax. English buyers loved its golden shine - see p. 12-13
  • 25.02.2009: Built on black gold. Flanders’ only authentically intact mine, and the town they built around it in Beringen. “Flemish black gold” was discovered in the Kempen region of Limburg. Coal transformed this virtually uninhabited region of arid heathland and boggy morasses into a thriving industrial heartland.
  • 25.08.2009: Unique bridge destined for the scrapheap; Plans by the Flemish region and the city of Bruges to replace a unique swing-bridge designed by the world-famous Flemish engineer A. Vierendeel have been attacked by the Flemish Association for Industrial Archaeology (VVIA).
  • 24.02.2010: The flax men. The last flax farm run by two brothers in the village of Gullegem, West Flanders, shut its doors. Brussels-based filmmaker Jan Lapeire, who grew up just a few hundred metres from the Devos farm, picked up his camera and documented the brothers’ final flax harvest
  • 25.04.2012: Going underground. Most of Europe’s former mines have disappeared, so places like Winterslag offer a rare view into Belgium’s mining past. Two years ago, the former Winterslag coalmine, now known as "C-Mine" received the European Stars Award for best brownfield development, for revitalising a former industrial site that had fallen into disuse. The mine now houses the Centre for Creative Innovation and Entrepreneurship, which supports creative business development.
  • 12.06.2013: MIAT wins Museum Prize in Flanders. The Museum of Industrial Heritage and Textiles (MIAT) in Ghent is the winner of this year’s Museum Prize for Flanders. The museum tells the story of the city’s industrial past from 1750 onward through ancient machinery, replications of streets and shops, stories of local labour movement and photography.
  • 08.11.2013: Port of Antwerp wins European heritage award. The theme of this year’s awards was Heritage. The harbour of Antwerp boast rich collections of industrial and other heritage, including equipment, buildings and monuments. They are used in an innovative manner not just to explain a port’s history but also to make the connection with present and future development.
  • 13.01.2014: Frietkoten recognised as cultural heritage. Flemish culture minister Joke Schauvliege has added the region’s frieten, or french fry, culture to the government’s list of intangible cultural heritage.
  • 28.08.2014: Antwerp Central one of “world’s most beautiful stations”. The popular New York news site Mashable put Antwerp’s Central train station at the top of its list of 12 of the world’s most beautiful railway stations
  • 26.09.2014: Jenever Museum re-opens to celebrate the past and present of staple Hasselt drink. The Jenever Museum in Hasselt recently re-opened its doors after being closed for 10 months and undergoing a complete transformation. The result is a fresh, modern, interactive attraction that seeks to educate and entertain, while honouring its history and looking towards the future
  • 27.11.2014: Flanders gets its first beer museum, finally. The most surprising thing about the new Bruges Beer Museum is that it’s the first of its kind in Belgium. How is it possible that a country with such a rich beer culture and a worldwide reputation for brewing didn’t have a museum dedicated to its most beloved beverage?
  • 12.06.2015: Diamond workshop brought back to life in Nijlen. The story of a diamond cutting workshop which is being restored. Diamond cutting was a home industry in the Kempen - but little is left. Fortunately this workshop has been legally protected as a historic monument. Once the restoration is complete and the machines are ready for use again, it will even be possible to cut diamonds again in the 'Slijperij Liekens'.
  • 25.06.2015: Firm hatches unique residential concept for one-of-a-kind factory. The factory, built in 1909 to produce chocolate bars and peperkoek (gingerbread), was in operation until 1934, when the company went bankrupt. Soon she will be transformed into lofts. Between now and the start of construction, the site will host an impressive variety of events and activities.
  • 10.07.2015: Baasrode museum tells history of once-thriving shipyard. The East Flemish town of Baasrode was once the main shipyard on the river Scheldt. But over time, demand for small river boats collapsed, and many local shipyards started closing their doors. Some local residents, however, fought to preserve their piece of industrial heritage.
  • 05.08.2015: Forty years of industrial heritage in Flanders. Back in 1975, the first industrial heritage site in Flanders was granted protected status. It was followed shortly by the formation of a Flemish association with preservation of this important social history at its heart. Four decades later, in the European Year of Industrial and Technical Heritage, an exhibition celebrates Flanders’ remarkable buildings, machinery and stories
  • 09.10.2015: Brussels museum is a hymn to the railways. Th new Train World Museum in Brussels offers an engaging trip through almost two centuries of train travel and reminds us that the story of the railways is also a story about people
  • 14.02.2016: Old brewery being brought back to life at Wiels. The Wiels culture centre in Vorst is home to an industrial monument in the making, as the old engine room of the former Wielemans-Ceuppens brewery gets a complete makeover
  • 08.04.2016: Flemish projects win prestigious Europa Nostra Awards. Two projects in Flanders have won a Europa Nostra Award, the European Union’s most prestigious recognition of cultural heritage. The De Hoorn brewery in Leuven has won the prize in the Conservation category. De Hoorn is the birthplace of Stella Artois, dating back to 1923, but it had stood empty and unused for 20 years when a group of entrepreneurs acquired the building in 2007. They worked to turn it into a dynamic cultural centre, which opened in 2012  
  • 01.12.2016: Unesco recognises Belgian beer as cultural heritage. Belgian beer culture in all of its aspects has been approved by Unesco for inclusion on its list of the world's intangible heritage, the organisation announced yesterday. “Belgium has won the world cup for beer culture,” said Flemish culture minister Sven Gatz
  • 05.06.2017: Digital project brings Flanders’ forgotten industries into 21st century  A European project aims to change that by focusing the attention on the sites’ rich industrial and technical heritage. Genius Loci awards the sites with special digital labels, helping them step right into the 21st century.
  • 01.07.2017: Water world: Swim with the fishes at a former coal depot. From coal treatment plant to subtropical dive centre, TODI at Be-Mine in Limburg is unique
  • 05.09.2017: Former rail depot in Essen to become brewery: The government of Flanders and the EU are helping to fund the renovation of the turn-of-the century railway warehouse in Essen, set to become a brewery and tasting room      
  • 08.10.2018: Art Deco Eperon d’Or wins annual Monument Prize:   The Eperon d’Or is a former shoe factory. Built in 1930 in Art Deco style according to a design by local architect Charles Laloo, the building was home to some 200 workers who produced handcrafted shoes. The gorgeously restored 1930 building in West Flanders is now home to two city museums, a visitor centre and administration


  • Ine WOUTERS, Michael DE BOUW & Ann VERDONCK: Restoration of the 1824 Wissekerke Iron Suspension Footbridge: Construction Details Revealed. The wrought iron suspension footbridge, built in 1824 at the Wissekerke Castle in Kruibeke (Belgium) is the oldest surviving chain footbridge in continental Europe. As the footbridge shifted from private to public use, the condition of the footbridge was surveyed and assessed. During restoration works, which started in the winter of 2011, new construction details were revealed.

Presentations (.ppt or .pdf)

Other information on Flemish industrial heritage available on the internet